Gun Rights In TN
Gun Rights: What you should know about weapons charges
The State of Tennessee allows adults to purchase and openly carry a gun without a license. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun license to carry a gun that is concealed. Concealed is construed as carrying a gun in your car or on your body.
To obtain a concealed handgun license, you must apply with the city or town where you live. Your local licensing authorities have the discretion to determine whether or not to issue you either (or any) permit.
Table of Contents
Gun Rights Qualifications
To qualify, you must:
- Be at least 21 years;
- Be qualified to possess a firearm under federal law;
- Be a Tennessee resident;
- Be a United States citizen or permanent lawful resident;
- Submit fingerprints, photo identification;
- Submit proof of successful completion of an approved handgun safety course; and
- Submit a processing fee.
It is important to note that there may be many additional restrictions or rules from town to town, county to county, or in any varying jurisdiction you may happen to visit in Tennessee or other states. Also, it is important to know that it is illegal to carry a loaded concealed weapon in Tennessee without a concealed permit.
Penalties for a first violation include a fine of up to $500, up to 30 days in jail, or both. A second or subsequent violation incurs a fine of up to $500, up to six months in jail, or both. There is also mandatory forfeiture of your weapon.
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Tennessee, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Contact Sherwood Boutique Litigation at (615) 873-5670.
Disclaimer: None of the content on this site should be considered as legal advice or counsel. For professional legal advice on any legal matter, contact Sherwood Boutique Litigation at (615) 873-5670.
Gun Rights FAQs
Criminal Attorney vs Domestic Violence Attorney?What’s the difference between a criminal lawyer and a domestic lawyer? Generally speaking, there is no difference between the two terms. The use of “domestic… ... read more >
Generally speaking, there is no difference between the two terms. The use of “domestic violence lawyer” is mostly used as a term of art to discuss a criminal attorney defending charges related to domestic violence. When the term is used by criminal attorneys, it may indicate that they specialize in resolving domestic violence charges. The general term, however, is criminal attorney or criminal defense attorney. Attorney is also interchangeable with lawyer. – “The more you know.”
What Is The Punishment For 1st Offense Misdemeanor Domestic Violence In TN?What is the punishment for the first misdemeanor domestic assault charge in Tennessee? A Class A Misdemeanor domestic assault conviction in Tennessee is punishable by… ... read more >
A Class A Misdemeanor domestic assault conviction in Tennessee is punishable by up to 11 months and 29 days in jail in addition to fines; however, very few people receive the maximum jail sentence. In almost all cases, an anger management class will be required. The real consequences come after you've served your time, paid your fines, and taken your class. One of those is the mandatory loss of your right to possess a firearm for the rest of your life. Read the full list of those consequences here: collateral consequences of having a domestic violence conviction on your record.